Show and Tell: Outdoorables

“Show and tell” is one of those American cultural and educational touchstones. Some kid brings a funny looking rock, another a model train, and the third will bring something inappropriate that should result in hilarity, like his mom’s birth control. Tee vee has taught me that this is what will happen. And thank goodness because, in my actual, very American experience, I don’t have much recall of having to participate in many show and tell sessions. So thank you, blog, for helping me work through this urge to have people look at me for a little while, but not too long, as I talk about my possessions.

Now then, check out these shoes I found at Savers a few weeks back!

How can something this close to perfect even exist? The two holes for the tie! The fringe! The proportion! They’ve never even been worn!


Check out that tiny zig-zag stitch on the edge.

And then, there is the name.


Of course. Of course they would be called “Outdorables”.


Even the inside fabric is a perfect, little white-on-black window pane check.


This is what they would look like if you were me, in my studio, and rolled on your back- sticking your legs out at a 45 degree angle- to get a photo of your new shoes.


And let’s round it out with an action shot.

I will now end my evening by drinking in this huge mug of peppermint tea, listening to late 1960s Vietnamese rock and roll, and clicking my heels against the floor, probably to the irritation of my downstairs neighbors.

2 thoughts on “Show and Tell: Outdoorables

  1. Katie says:

    Hi, I just came across your blog and I HAD to comment because –

    I found the exact same pair of shoes (in navy) a few months ago, and they were also in perfect-never-worn-condition! Same brand and everything! Totally strange. Pictures here if you want to check it out:

    http://katiesredumbrella.blogspot.com/2010/05/tuesday-shoesday.html

    I dig your stuff & nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

