More Food About Songs and Buildings.

If you were to lend a title to what books I have been reading the past few years, Talking Heads’ More Songs About Buildings and Food would be mega-super-duper-apt. Books on music; books on buildings; books on food. Lately, I’ve been paying special attention to the parts of the music books where buildings, architecture, and city-planning play a role in the inspiration of bands, genres, and songs. Without getting too far into it, let’s just say that the more you look for it, the more there is and I had better get a thicker note book, ya?

In the meantime, here’s a good combination of thoughts to groove on that I call “Suburban Date Nite”:

 

Image copyright Bill Owens

1. Pick up a copy of photographer Bill Owens’ Suburbia. You can view many of his images on the internet, but I recommend investing your time in finding a copy of the book to have and hold.

 

2. Watch 1978 cult classic Over the Edge, starring a teensy Matt Dillon as a classic bad boy.

 

3. Listen to the Arcade Fire’s The Suburbs. I know that I am grouchy and slow to appreciate new, modern, popular music so the shining that I have taken to this album is surprising… as well as old news to almost everyone else. Has anyone written a paper on this album in terms of like, Joel Garreau’s Edge City? Or am I late to this party, too?

Add a package of Nutter Butters and some Tang to this equation and get your suburban-pyschogeography-another-Friday-night-by-myself jam on.

 

Tagged

Leave a Reply

