Changes.

It’s changing time.

I’m sure that you don’t spend your days bopping around the With Care Etsy shop, furiously looking for any minute changes that I may have made. In fact, if you were, I think I would feel more-than-a-little uncomfortable. I’d be doing that thing where my lips are smiling but the rest of my face is clenched. You know the look. I know you do.

I’ve spent the last few days trying to develop something of a new product photo scheme. I like well styled photos but, dammit, I also love the look of items photographed against a simple seamless background. Daily Memorandum, I’m looking in your direction.

So, if you do stop by the With Care shop you might notice that I’ve added more by adding less. Simple styling with lots of white space for items to float in. I even went as far as building a light box and curating a small collection of neutral props from the detritus of my studio.

A few weeks back, one of my friends called my aesthetic “pristine”… which kind of knocked me on my ass, knowing myself and my habits for as long as I have. But I’ve decided to roll with it. I’m aiming for something that straddles “pristine” and “production”. And there’s always the third p, “Providence”: my kind host and unwitting inspiration.

Yay? Nay? Discuss.

(PS- a fourth p- “Philadelphia”. I’m so into things coming out of my ancestral city these days. Daily Memorandum, Blood Milk, and Laplander Bags to name a few. Is it something in the Schuykill?)

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Changes.

  1. ian c. says:

    loookin nice! I like the “neutral object background” photo style. 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    I find all of these pictures inspiring! They do look different than your previous product photography. I have to say I like these more. I love props…! I have to add that I love all the prices of jewelry I bought from you- the scissors necklace, the bee-necklace and the dog-brooch. Thank you Elizabeth.

  3. With Care says:

    Thanks guys! It’s always nice to hear back from two folks with strong aesthetic visions!

Leave a Reply

