Some Questions.

So, I was tagged to do this meme by Beca of the famous (and rightfully so) company, Tumbleweeds, home to fantastic eye wear and more. I often refuse to spend more than 20 bucks on eye glass frames but, at some point in my life, I really wouldn’t mind having a pair of their wood veneered specs.

This survey makes me feel all light and fluttery like an idealized teenage girl!

There are five rules:
1. Post these rules.
2. Post a photo of yourself and 11 random things.
3. Answer the questions set for you in the original post.
4. Create 11 new questions and tag people to answer them.
5. Go to their blog/twitter and tell them you’ve tagged them.
I was going to post a, like, flattering picture but at the last moment I decided that what you really need to know about me is that I am, clearly, 1.) awesome and 2.) a real grown up. Only grown ups are allowed to wear a t-shirt with TWO curse words on it.
1. I was going to just post the “11 Satanic Rules of the Earth” and see if anyone noticed, but decided against it. This is, literally what Dave and I are talking about at 3am, though.
2. I don’t really like movies. It’s just how it is. I don’t hate movies, but I generally think that I can find better ways to spend my time. Documentaries are a different story, though.
3. I once body-checked Dith Pran in my high school hallway. The Khmer Rouge couldn’t take him down but, apparently, a wronged teenage girl is far more dangerous than a nation of Communists.
4. I grew up mere miles from where the Hindenburg crashed and managed to absorb A LOT of information about lighter-than-air travel.
5. I really like bread. Particularly with butter.
6. I met one of my boyfriends at a funeral.
7. When I was in high school, some of my life goals were to go to Frank Lloyd Wright’s Falling Water, to ride in the back of a pick-up truck, and to eat an entire can of frosting. I did all of those by Sophmore year so I had to come up with some new goals. I have pretty good success when I aim low.
8. I can’t wait to turn 30! I’ve never been into saying shit like, “Now that I’m [whatever age] I blah blah blah…” because it really makes you sound like an asshole. But once hit 30, I’m going to play that age card every time I possibly can! “I’m a 30 year old woman. I don’t have time for this shit!” Plus, I see it as a kind of cultural and social freedom. Once I’m on the other side of 30 it’s like, I don’t have to feel nearly as pressured to be pretty, hip, or young because, as an American living, white lady, our culture denies my viability pretty early on in life. And I’m really looking forward to being further loosened from as much of that as I can. Ha, suckers!
9. I’d like to be a morning person but that will probably never happen. I do most of my best work after 9pm.
10. I once hung out at the house of the artist who created the opening credits to Reading Rainbow.
11.I don’t really like to have things on my head. Not hats or bands or whatever. Dave says that I look cute with stuff on my head but I just can’t deal with that feeling of having extra stuff up top.
And now I answer some questions:
1. If you had to put 3 things in a time capsule for future generations, what would they be?
Unsure. The classicist in me would put the stuff like newspapers or records or racing forms in there. But then the asshole in me would really into putting some of those spring loaded snakes in there so as to surprise the pants off of a future generation.
2. What is one skill/craft you wish you could perfect?
All of them? If we are basing it off of the skills I already posses, I’d really like to be better at flat patterning and fitting.
3. If you had to describe yourself in senses, how would you smell, feel, color, taste, etc?
I smell not unlike the lingering scent of sleep and must. I feel cold because my circulation could often be better. If you squint your eyes at me, I look pinkish because I have very rosy skin. I’m unsure what I would taste like but, whatever it is, my dog can’t stop licking me.
4. How do you take your coffee or tea?
I often take my coffee black but, as I am getting older and snobbier/less tolerant of gross coffee, I will sometimes add a little soy milk or cream to lessen the load. Last year I got very into adding condensed milk and or hot chocolate mix but that’s not an every day type of behavior. I don’t usually add anything to my tea save for honey, lemon, and cayenne pepper when I am sickly. You should know that my tea drawer is meticulously organized.
5. What is your favorite junk food/go to snacks?
Tiny pizzas!
6. Describe the wall in front of you. What color is it, what’s hanging on it?
It’s yellow and short with a white door to the crawl space/closet area. Next to the door is our giant tv. It’s almost as old as I am and is huge. I don’t even know how it got up here. I call it “Gilbert Grape’s mother” because when it finally dies, I have no idea how we are going to get it out of the living room.
7. If you could keep any animal for a day, without fear of getting maimed or killed, what animal would it be?
A bunch of floppy baby bears? It would be pretty great to fall asleep spooning a tiger, too.
8. Have you ever sewn anything? If so, what was your best project?
It’s like all I do is sew! It’s hard to choose a favorite but I have made some pretty corsets and waist cinchers. Although, maybe my favorite costume that I have made was a 1920s weight lifter. Or the sparkly nudie suit with removable blonde merkin.
9. Who in your family do you think you are most like?
My mom, totes. Sometimes, I catch her voice coming out of my mouth. Yikes!
10. It’s Sunday afternoon, what do you wish you were doing?
Eating. Or riding my bike a decently far distance.
11. What was the first blog you started reading regularly?
I don’t know! The internet has been a regular facet of my life for such a long time now. Sometimes I get all nostalgic and swoony for the days of Geocities homepages and fan sites. The internet was way more fun back then.
And now, I ask you some questions:
1. A tiny mouth on your chest that never shuts up or a nose growing out of your ankle that can constantly smell your own feet as well as the feet of others- which one would you choose and why? (this question stolen from my friend, Jackie)
2. What is the thing about you that people just don’t seem to understand?
3. Is there a piece of clothing that you are afraid to wear, either specifically or conceptually?
4. How many places have you lived? Which was the best?
5. Your keychain strategy: large and in charge or simple and easy to keep in your pocket?
6. Have you read all those books on your nightstand? Really?
7. You have $50,000 to blow in one day on really selfish items and services. How will you be spending this, sir?
8. E-readers, defend them. (Not really a question. But, seriously, please try.)
9. Tell me about your neighborhood. Do you like it?
10. What is a food that you have learned to like?
11. How were your high school years? Painful? Or not actually that bad?
I’m supposed to tag people to participate in this but that makes me feel kind of weird. So, instead, I invite anyone who has the time or inclination to answer these questions either in the comments section of on their own virtual soap box. And if you choose the latter, leave me a link so that I can be nosy and learn more about you.
Tagged

2 thoughts on “Some Questions.

  1. missbats says:

    And now, I ask you some questions:
    1. A tiny mouth on your chest that never shuts up or a nose growing out of your ankle that can constantly smell your own feet as well as the feet of others- which one would you choose and why? (this question stolen from my friend, Jackie)
    Mouth on my chest. I’d make it say mean things and blame it on the twin my body absorbed

    2. What is the thing about you that people just don’t seem to understand?
    That I don’t have an angle when I offer to help with a project. For me, it’s about the doing, not the glory

    3. Is there a piece of clothing that you are afraid to wear, either specifically or conceptually?
    Afraid-no. Wool sweaters make me very sad. So does acrylics

    4. How many places have you lived? All in Nj Which was the best? all have good stuff, some, it’s just being there too long. (new brunswick, my current apartment)

    5. Your keychain strategy: large and in charge or simple and easy to keep in your pocket?I used to just have a ring, but now I do have a thing from my parents’ vacation–it’s fron the La brea tar pits
    6. Have you read all those books on your nightstand? Really? It’s my to be read pile
    7. You have $50,000 to blow in one day on really selfish items and services. How will you be spending this, sir?
    VINTAGE
    8. E-readers, defend them. (Not really a question. But, seriously, please try.) For commuting, but I still prefer paper
    9. Tell me about your neighborhood. Do you like it? The little I see of it, yeah, it’s pretty
    10. What is a food that you have learned to like? Green beans. Hated them as a kid. Canned veggies are gross
    11. How were your high school years? Painful? Or not actually that bad? Not too bad.

  2. Beca says:

    holy shit, i am just catching up on my blogging. you put hot choc mix in your coffee? are we twins? I think so. I loved this! Thanks for playing. I feel like I passed you this note in 5th grade science class and squealed when I read the answers. xoxo

Leave a Reply

