First Quarter Review of Last Whole.

1. What did you do this year that you’d never done before?

I had an adult job as a digital archivist for, like, 3 months. The material was very interesting: the correspondence of Mary Baker Eddy, the founder of Christian Science. Regardless of how you feel about Christian Science, she was a really rad lady living on her own and developing her own religious and media empire during the very female-unfriendly late 1800s. The Christian Science Monitor? It’s still around!

I also learned a lot more about metal, casting it, and working with it. Man, why didn’t I study sculpture in college instead of drawing and painting? you know, something useful.

I fielded a bunch of emails from a big-time, famous, female tattoo artist in the midst of a controversial marriage about a wholesale order for her gallery but, in the end, her payment never came through. Definitely my first time being contacted by a b-list artist and my first time negotiating a big disappointment.

I started working out once a week. Turns out I’m not a total uncoordinated dork after all.

2. Did you keep your last years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I think that I did. I had a few intentions that were kind of easy to pass/fail, like drinking more water and using moisturizer (pass) or better posture (fail?). Be better about talking about myself and what I do? I don’t know. That one is still difficult but I heard that it gets better with practice. I also made an intention to be more resilient when things don’t go my way. In certain directions, this has been a success. In others? Not so. These were some pretty difficult and slightly non-objective resolutions so this year I went for something a little more direct: Learn to exercise better/exercise more and try to be better about taking compliments. So far, I’m succeeding really well.

3. What would you like to have in the next year that you lacked last year?

More travel, trips, and adventures!!!!  Oh. And Kat von D’s money. See #1.

4. What date will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

In the 2011? Uh…gee. I should probably remember the date of when one of my best friend’s had his first child but…yeah. I don’t. How about 10/15- Tara’s wedding followed by 10/16- the worst drive back to Rhode Island ever? It took 12 hours, 2 tow trucks, and 1 emergency doughnut to over come what was normally a 4 or 5 hour drive.

5. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Continuing to work on With Care instead of getting frustrated and just giving up.

6. What was your biggest failure?

Freaking out and feeling like a failure all the time. Not putting myself out there. Making excuses for accepting pathetic behavior. The time I had a give away and nobody really cared.

7. What was the best thing you bought?

My workbench!

8. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My young co-worker Kayla. Whenever I hear her say something like, “It might be terrible, but it’s my life” or “Sorry. Your haircut doesn’t work on me.” my heart swells. You are becoming a fine young lady, young lady.

9. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Beyond my own at certain junctures? It’s hard to say. So much behavior is appalling and depressing but it’s always extra awful when it comes in the form of your friends just not giving that much a shit about you.

10. Where did most of your money go?

With Care, delicious foods, glorious cocktails, bicycle-buying.

11. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Bikes! It’s waned now but pretty only bicycle-centric topics were on my mind for all of the fall.

12. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Hmmm. Probably that damn awful Best Coast album everyone was getting themselves all twisted over. If I had to choose between listening to The Breeders or listening to a shitty version of The Breeders, I will obviously choose The Breeders. Never trust a proud stoner, y’all.

13. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. Happier or sadder?

Probably sadder. At least less satisfied.

ii. Thinner or fatter?

I’d like to think thinner, thanks to all that exercise, but I’m probably the same.

iii. richer or poorer?

Richer… maybe?

14. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Actually doing things and not just talking or thinking about doing things. I’m sick of waiting until the future for my life to be as I want it. Improvements have to start now.

15. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Loafing. Waiting. Feeling unable or scared. Not asking questions out of some foolish notion of pride.

16. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Oh, terrible former roommate, how deep my displeasure runs.

17. What was the best book you read?

Edge Cities? I didn’t do too much reading this past year but who can resist a dated tome on urban planning?

18. What did you want and get?

A loaded touring bike. Turns out, a loaded touring bike isn’t really what I need.

19. How would you describe your personal fashion concept?

Red, white, and blue. Anywhere. Anytime.

20. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned.

I might not actually be cut out for ever working a “successful adult job”… bring on the hand tattoos!

 

Speaking of style concepts, here is a fairly representation of a style concept I had sometime around the middle of the month.

Green sweater from my friend Jess, cropped by moi| Polka dot dress from the Goodwill of Bayville, NJ. Bought on the way from the church where Tara was wed to the hotel where we all ate food and danced to show tunes | Shoes by 80%20 | God. I love that poster of Gene Wilder’s Willy Wonka punching out Johnny Depp’s Willy Wonka.

4 thoughts on “First Quarter Review of Last Whole.

  1. Chelsea says:

    If we go on our Cape Cod ride this summer, your touring bike will have rendered itself a necessity. Heck, I’ll even let you carry some of my stuff!

  2. lauren says:

    you are one cool lady, I hope I grow up to be like you! haha for real. I just started following your blog b.c, Becca of Tumbleweeds annouced you on her blog! Im so excited about your giveaway, you make such pretty things 🙂

Leave a Reply

