Surprise!

Hey guys, guess where I’m going!

Yes! Next month, my friend and I are headed for a week-long trip that will end in Santa Fe, New Mexico! Although, while Santa Fe is where I am going, we plan on taking some sweet time getting there. I’m super excited because

1) I really like the idea of the American southwest. The last time I was there was over 13 years ago!

2) I really like the idea of going on a road trip. I’ve never been on one before! I always get so jealous when Dave gets to go on tour. Now, it’s my turn!

3) I love kitsch-y Americana and a road trip to the southwest is kitschy Americana: defined!

I have a mostly open mind, a love of staring out the window, and a plane ticket home. Our only big plan for the trip, so far, is stopping at the City Museum in St. Louis, MO. For better or for worse, when I think of road trips, I also think of all the cool stuff I want to buy. I mean, I plan on coming back to the east coast dripping with silver and turquoise jewelry and with a bunch of cowboy boots smuggled under my sweatshirt. I also want to go to a Waffle House.

Help! What else can we do? Have you been to Santa Fe? Or driven Rt. 66? Tell me about all the roadside fun this country has to offer!

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. Michelle V says:

    I’m jealous! My boyfriend just got a new Mustang and it’s his dream for us to road trip across the American southwest in it. I want to top off the obnoxiously American trip by ending it at Disneyland! 🙂 We decided that trip’s a bit too expensive to do this year, but maybe next. I can dream!

    Ahhh, you should let me know if/when you go to the City Museum! It’s literally a block from my loft. I’d love to meet you there and hang out for a few hours! 🙂

    • With Care says:

      Thanks for such a generous offer, Michelle! I don’t want to make any promises in case I’m unable to keep them but I’d love to know about all the fun things that St. Louis has to offer. I don’t know how much time we will be able to stay there for but I’d love to cram as many good things into my time there as I can.

Leave a Reply

