Two Portraits.

Indulge me for a moment while I share with you these two excellent portraits I have been lucky enough to have made this year. I’m not sure which is better.

Number 1 is me, as seen by Kate Beaton. That is, Kate Beaton: Pretty Much One Of My Favorite Comic Writers Ever. The day this was made was a double whammy of favorite comic artists. Dorothy Gambrell of Cat and Girl and Kate Beaton of Hark! A Vagrant!- the queens of smarty-pants, liberal art school snark style comics- literally feet from each other. Well worth the drive out to Western Massachusetts for a few minutes of hanging out and thanking folks for doing what they do.

(Dorothy also has amped up her documentation of her personal income and now provides this great page that really demystifies the glamorous lifestyle of the working artist.)

 

Number 2 is this great picture of me as taken by Corey Grayhorse’s divine photographic eye. I had been wanting to end up at the business end of her camera for a while so when Kelly, Kayla and I had the chance for a small, birthday photo sesh, we jumped at the chance.

 

Take the time to shirk your work and check out her dicotomous dioramas that are balanced between the severe and the sugary. A winning one-two, for sure.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

