Travelogue 6.

On Sunday, we spent most of our day either eating or loafing.

The Teahouse: holy hell! I’ve been trying to convince myself that I like oatmeal. I’m doing this for the same reason that I’m trying to convince myself that I like running: other people seem to get a lot of enjoyment out of this simple thing and I, in all of my flawed human existence, am craaaaaaazy jealous of their inner conviction. I think that this oatmeal might serve as the decoder ring to my enjoyment of a morning bowl of oatmeal. It doesn’t hurt that it is smothered in butter, heavy cream, and whipped cream. And brown sugar. I went back and had it for breakfast this morning, too.

Downtown Santa Fe is good looking and the hill above downtown where we are staying is also magically good looking.

At 5:30, we emerged with the goal of finding some grub (SF seems rather shuttered on Sundays). As Joss was trying to lock the door, the knob slipped right off, lock still around the key, key still in the hand. We informed the nice lady at student services about what happened. She called the maintenance man, who was on-call, who had to finish up his Father’s Day dinner. We left for a dinner of our own and took a little extra time checking out the Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe.

There’s a statue of Our Lady of Lourdes around the side of the church. A real one-two punch of famous Virgin Mary manifestations.

In the end, we didn’t get back into our room until around 10pm. Yikes. And the new door knob? I think they stole it off of the supply closet because now that door is missing a knob.

(Double yikes: I have to get on an airplane and leave soon! I feel like I’ve been gone away forever! I’m going to miss the dry heat, the little lizards, and drivers who don’t harass you as you walk down the street. Mmmm. Vacation, indeed.)

(But then I look on Facebook and see all the fun going on in Providence and it’s like I can’t get back quickly enough! Not many bay and river-side bars in ol’ Santa Fe and no cute little brown dog to cuddle at night, either. And Mussel Monday’s at Loie Fuller’s! And birthday parties! And crazy techno shows on haunted battleships! And shade!)

Leave a Reply

