Beehive of Industry and the Grey Lady.

The city has been a-buzz this week about the very favorable article on Providence that appeared in the New York Times Travel Section. Unlike an article from a few years back, the 2012 edition hits on the things that us local yokels like to do. In fact, this article kind of takes the events of a month or two in my daily life and smushes them into an exhilarating 36 hours. I won’t bore you with the real-life connections, Rhode Island is such an interwoven place that EVERYONE is connected to EVERYTHING. But it’s hard not to point and shout, “Chez Pascal! That’s where Dave works! The Avery! Last week, I left my tote bag there… alongside my dignity!” You should just read it and be charmed. Really. Just read it. It’s short. Promise.

The great thing about EVERYONE being connected to EVERYTHING is that, after the article dropped, photographer Ryan Conaty published a load of unseen photos on his blog for city-at-large to enjoy. I always love seeing this place through the eyes of other people but there was one photo that stood out above the rest:

How could the NYT have overlooked this one? Someday, Times. Someday, I will be in you. (I have quite a track record of just falling short. A good handful of my friends have appeared in some capacity, including a college roommate of mine as well as the time that Ariel Pink was caught wearing an I’m Your Present sweetshirt in the Arts and Leisure section.)

I love Providence (obvs) and I feel lucky to have landed in a place where I feel so comfortable and cared for so early in my life. Mr. Conaty’s photos really underscore all of my feelings while featuring only a fraction of all the things there are to love about this city and state (and I’m not just saying this because he and his effervescent wife are good customers and cause he gave me daps in a blog post.) He mentions that this was the most stressful of his photo assignments and I can understand why. It took me 15 minutes to decide on a top photo for this post. I can only boggle at what it is like staring down how to express the monumentality of such a tiny place and then know that it will be fit into an even smaller space.

Leave a Reply

