Intention/Execution.

Looking like this.

Looking like this.

Crap. It’s New Year’s Eve. Already.

The last week of December seems to draw itself out so long that it’s end is kind of a shock, right? Like, it will never come.

Feeling like this.

Feeling like this.

Last year, my intentions for this year were brief: 1) Be better about working out. 2) Learn to take a compliment. Shockingly, the first was easier to accomplish than the second. Not that I’m ripped and ready for bikini season or anything, but I did manage to do some sort of vigorous physical activity at least 3 days a week for the entire year (although it was a little rough going during October… which was a month of illness, anxiety, and social-avoidance… which was, you know. A bummer.) I think that I didn’t really get good and serious about what I was doing until May or June, however. I went from being able to run only a few blocks to being able to, dependably, run 1 mile. A few times, I ran 2 miles. Once, I think I ran just shy of 3 miles. This is a really, really big deal for me and I’m trying not to let my brain diminish it. Every day that I ran, I was literally doing a thing that I had never done before. I took it pass/fail. And it was scary. So, so scary.

Since the onset of cold and dark wintery times, I’ve switched my attention over to bodyrock.tv/dailyhiit.com. It great because it’s short, free, and easy to do at home. It also really works those muscles and makes it easy to track your improvements. I mean, in my arms, I have a visible bicep muscle. You can see it. In both of them. Whoa.

Photo on 2012-12-10 at 21.43

Taking a compliment is difficult. I usually say, “Thank you.” or “Hey, thanks!” Whatever. It’s weird. It will always be weird. No matter how fly my hair color looks or how tight I know my outfit game to be. Special thanks go to the Jeep full of teen boys who yelled “Nice hair!” at me when I was crossing the street in front of them. When I turned to look, they all gave me double-thumbs-up, 8 hands sticking out of the windows and sunroof.

This year, 2013, I intend to work on my ability to focus. How? I don’t know, yet. Brute mental force, maybe? Hypnosis? Eating more local, organic vegetables? Something about my chi? The world is an interesting and distracting place where I can read blogs like Grey Cavalier instead of being a more useful human being who, for example, efficiently runs their own business out of their attic. My secondary intention is to amp my exercise up to 5 days a week. Fingers crossed and place your bets on which will be more successful.

 

2 thoughts on “Intention/Execution.

  1. Lauren says:

    Woman, you are an inspiration! One of my goals for the new year is to work out at least a few times a week because at the moment I am a complete couch potato and I’d like to change that! Thanks for sharing that link to the daily hiit website. It looks intense but totally doable. Happy almost new year! 🙂

    • With Care says:

      Thanks, Lauren! Consistency is damn hard but so worth it. The DailyHiit website is currently really screwed up but, hopefully, will have the kinks ironed out soon. Some of those workouts are fall-down-in-a-puddle-of-your-own-tears intense but are also easily modified so that crying is kept to a minimum.

Leave a Reply

