It’s Thanksgiving, Charlie Brown.

I am thankful for a great many things, particularly sitting around and watching both Peanuts Thanksgiving specials on the tee vee. I have a deep, soft place in my heart for the scenes where the Peanuts gang try to make their own rag tag holiday celebration. I also have a soft spot for caricatures of Pilgrims.

(Noble in intention/short in execution, the recent popularity of “secret restaurants” in Providence will forever remind me of living in the above scene where Peppermint Patty is delivered a platter full of pretzel sticks, pop corn, jelly beans and buttered toast. These days, I just politely decline.)

I’m also Thankful for all of the friends that I have been able to spend time with this past week: eleven in six days! Eleven folks that like and care about so much but only am able to see a couple times a year at most- once every 5 years at least! I’ve tried to withhold my sappy emotions but, it is difficult. I spend so many hours of my evenings and weekends alone in my studio that I have developed something of a fleeting loneliness complex. Thus, I tend to take it to heart when my presence seems to improve the quality of someone’s life, even if only for a few hours. Some real heart-to-heart shit.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time for the Lady Gaga Thanksgiving special.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment